Second thoughts? It’s About The Idea

“My heart is afraid that it will have to suffer,” the boy told the alchemist one night as they looked up at the moonless sky.
“Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself. And no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dream.”
— from The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Tomorrow is my last day at work, so of course this week I have had some second thoughts. Specifically, what worries me is running out of money, even though we’re safe for at least 6 months. I’m still confident in my decision to leave, and deep down everything still tells me that what I am doing is right. One of my favorite quotes is from Ralph Waldo Emerson: “Always do what you are afraid to do.” I don’t know if it’s always the best advice, but certainly it is when you know fear is holding you back from something you are meant to do.

After being away for two weeks for the holidays and then focusing on finishing at work, I turned my attention back to the project. Ultimately, this is all about the project. I wouldn’t quit my job for just anything. When I think of the opportunity of this project, all the fears subside. I have the potential to develop a tool that millions of people will use to improve their life. I have the potential to make billions of dollars. If anything’s worth a risk, this is it. I am excited for tomorrow. I am excited to start working on Saturday. I have waited long enough – the decision is made, there’s no going back, the clock is ticking, and so it begins.

One Response to Second thoughts? It’s About The Idea

  1. Luke Shepard says:

    I’ve heard you yearn to start a company for almost ten years dude. You will love it and I’m sure you’ll never look back.

Leave a Reply

