The Deed Is Done

After 4.5 years at Microsoft, I am now a free man. My last day went well. I started by producing my last deliverable. After completing the task so many times, it was strange knowing this time would be my last. At 1:00 I had my exit interview with HR. At 3:00 I sent my farewell email to an audience of over 250, and then for the next 24 hours I was over-run with emails. My departure took many by surprise. Many of the emails were particularly moving and brought back some great memories. Just like I never really got to know people until I was leaving, I also didn’t really know what people thought of me until I was leaving. I am very proud of my time at Microsoft; I feel like I was able to leave my mark, and that I left at the right time. I started as a Search Marketing Analyst before the launch of Microsoft adCenter. I worked with the largest premium advertisers for 2.5 years in New York. I served the leadership team as a Business Analyst in Seattle while the scope of the group moved beyond search too all forms of advertising. During my last 6 months, I was able to fulfill my passion for product development, building internal reporting and analytics tools. I’ve come a long way from the shy, unconfident college graduate that got on an airplane to New York after college with only two interviews. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

============================================================
My Farewell Email
============================================================
Today is my last day at Microsoft after 4.5 unforgettable years. I had the pleasure of working in both the New York and Seattle offices during the launch of adCenter and development of Microsoft Advertising. Together, we built a new business at Microsoft. We developed products. We developed services. We saw our teams and roles develop. And we saw each other develop.
As most of you know by now, I recently had an idea that changed the path of my development. I’ve always said if the right startup idea came to me, I would pursue it. And so pursue it I shall.
In true Aaron Franklin fashion I will keep this short. This email is going out to over 200 colleagues and friends who have shaped my life. Thank you, keep in touch, and best of luck in the future.

Best,
Aaron

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
– Mark Twain

One Response to The Deed Is Done

  1. Gannon says:

    Congratulations Aaron! You have a lot to be proud of. I am still wondering what your startup idea is, although I’m sure it’s going to be huge!

Leave a Reply

