April Challenge: No TV, Return to Code

Over the past few months, I have been getting more and more frustrated with the television.  I have so much I want to do, yet I always turn on the television in the evening.  When I turn it off, often hours later, I am upset because I have absolutely nothing to show for the time.  “Why did I just sit through that?” I think.  I started cutting down on television, going some nights without it.  I found that I go to sleep earlier, fall asleep more easily, and am more productive during the day.  The days feel longer, and I actually get things done like reading, which are much more fulfilling.

Three months into my startup, I’m definitely feeling a new burst of energy, something I haven’t felt in years.  It took some time to get over Microsoft and ramp up, but now I’m dying to create.  I realize my time to find myself is limited.  I’ve realized (too many times) that I need to learn how to code again.  Starting again after all these years has been overwhelming, but that’s no excuse to avoid it.  I taught myself in high school, and I was top of my computer science classes in college – I can do this.

So I’m challenging myself for the month of April:

  1. No television on weekdays, 2 hours a day max on the weekend.
  2. 2 hours a day dedicated to programming. I’m starting with python, will move onto Django and go from there.

Will let you know how it goes.

One Response to April Challenge: No TV, Return to Code

  1. Ian Mercer says:

    Quitting TV is a great way to ‘fund’ your startup, besides, programming is far more creative.

Leave a Reply

